System Board | WTCS Skip to content

System Board

The Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) Board is the coordinating and oversight body for Wisconsin's 16 public, two-year technical colleges. It consists of 13 members, including 10 appointed by the Governor: a student, a farmer, an employer representative, an employee representative and 6 public members.

The remaining three "ex-officio" members, who serve by virtue of their professional position, are: the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development, and the President of the University of Wisconsin (UW) Board of Regents, or his or her designee.

Among the Board's primary oversight responsibilities are System-wide tuition setting, program approval, facilities approval, state finance, state and federal government relations, and state and federal grant administration.

Because they operate as local units of government, Wisconsin's technical colleges are uniquely tied to the communities they serve.